• Options to “Erase and Install” and “Archive and Install” are no longer present in the Mac OS X 10.6 installer. According to those familiar with the software, this was done for convenience, so that users do not accidentally erase and install their Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard partitions. However, “Erase and Install” remains available through Disk Utility, which is also included on the installation DVD.
• If you need to reinstall 10.6, it automatically archives and installs for you.
• A reinstallation will not affect your Mac OS X version number. In other words, reinstallation of Mac OS X 10.6 on a Mac that contains Mac OS X 10.6.1 (when it becomes available) will not overwrite any new components delivered by 10.6.1. So when the re-install is complete, you will still be running Mac OS X 10.6.1. This will save users considerable time.
I personally don’t think the OS X Installer is all that confusing now, but as long as Apple doesn’t get rid of any of the features, I have no issue with them rearranging things.